top of page



What is a healthy timeframe for recovering from loss?  Elisabeth Kübler-Ross' defined the five classic stages of grief: 

Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance


Later, in collaboration with David Kessler, a sixth stage was defined:

 Finding Meaning

There are no specific guidelines for the length of time it takes to move through these stages.  However, if you find yourself stuck in one or more of the first four stages for a significantly extended period of time, and if it is interferring with work, school, or relationships, it may be helpful to seek professional help in the form of individual therapy or a support group format.

about grieving the death of a family member,
partner, or friend:

  • You need to be strong, so people don't worry about you.  It is important to let people know how you feel.  It gives them permission to support you.

  • You need to get busy and distract yourself.  This is a helpful strategy, but may backfire causing us to remain stuck in grief even longer.

  • You've been grieving too long.  There is no timeline for grief.  The only way through it, is to go through it.

about recovering from the death of a pet:
  • It's just an animal.  Animals become an integral part of our family.

  • Get another one to replace it.  Every pet is unique and not replaceable.

  • You've been upset about this too long.  There is no timeline for grief.  The only way through it, is to go through it.

bottom of page